Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

CMP Announces Summer Poster Session Winners

Several students and advisors pose as a group.

On Friday, August 13, the Center for Materials Processing held its End of Summer Poster Session where students whose research contains an element of materials processing competed for recognition. The event featured twelve graduate students and ten undergraduate students from Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE), Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE), Materials Science and Engineering (MSE), and Physics. Twelve judges from Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Advanced Measurement Systems, the Institute for Advanced Materials and Manufacturing, the Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering, MSE, Spark Innovation Startups American Nanotechnologies Inc., and Neptune Fluid Flow Systems talked to the poster presenters and had the hard task of picking the top posters.

Graduate Students

First Place

Dianne Gutierrez, CBE, advised by Governor’s Chair Rigoberto Advincula
“3D Printing and Characterization of PDMS-Based Membranes for Carbon Capture Applications”

Second Place

Junyi Yang, Physics, advised by Associate Professor Jian Liu
“Epitaxial strain-engineering oxide superlattices of pseudospin-1/2 square lattice within Slater-Mott crossover region”

Third Place

Hannah Maeser, CEE, advised by Fred N. Peebles Professor Dayakar Penumadu
“Thermal digital image correlation and its applications to multiple scales of discontinuous platelet carbon fiber composites”

Honorable Mention

Di Xie (presented by co-author Zongyang Lyu), MSE, advised by Professor Yanfei Gao
“Identifying the effect of coherent precipitates on the deformation mechanisms by in-situ neutron diffraction in an extruded magnesium alloy under low-cycle fatigue”


First Place

Kelsey Uselton, CBE, advised by Governor’s Chair Thomas Zawodzinski and Senior Research Associate Gabriel Goenaga
“Parameter Optimization for the Performance of a Reversible Fuel Cell”

Second Place

Garrett Bennett, AE, advised by Assistant Professor Mariya Zhuravleva
“Bridgman Growth and Scintillation Properties of Eu doped RbMgCl3

Honorable Mentions

Michael Broud, MSE, advised by Professor David Keffer
“Investigation of Preferential CO2 Binding and Lignin-derived Carbon Quantum Dots Through Molecular Dynamics Simulations”

Raymond Wysmierski, MSE, advised by Professor Hahn Choo
“A high-speed synchrotron x-ray radiography study on the effect of dwell time on melt pool dynamics during the laser melting and solidification processes”